1 Comment

Week of Awesome II game jam

I’ve been trying to find a good jam to do for a while. It seems I miss every Ludum Dare because of previous plans (it takes place over 48 hours of a weekend, and it seems like I always have weddings or travel plans those weekends).

Gamedev.net is having a week-long game jam called Week of Awesome starting September 22 at midnight and lasting a week.

I’m going to use this opportunity to finally learn Unity. I spent the last day and a half going through Unity’s Stealth game tutorial. It’s a nice change from doing everything myself with XNA/MonoGame. In my own engines/games, I have incomplete/narrow implementations of nav mesh navigation, physics, global illumation – just the bare bones of what I needed. It’s nice to have access to robust, flexible implementations instead. It’s also somewhat reassuring to realize how similar game components and scripting work in my own engine vs Unity.

Unity

There are still a number of things I’d like to get experience with in Unity before the game jam starts (24 hours): 2d stuff, custom shaders, generating meshes programmatically. We’ll see if I have time for that. I’m trying to figure out what useful functionality I’d potentially want in a game that I haven’t “practiced” with Unity yet.

As for other tools I’ll be using for the game jam:

  • Photoshop, of course
  • Blender for any modelling I need to do (this really depends on if I end up doing a 3d game or not)
  • Sony Vegas for any audio clip editing, and a Zoom recorder for any audio recording I need to do
  • Pencil and paper for any hand art I need to scan in

One comment on “Week of Awesome II game jam

  1. learning unity for the week, sounds like a good plan, hope it comes together for you!

Leave a comment

Cascadia Quest blog

Development blog for Cascadia Quest

Space Quest Historian

Hi. I quite like adventure games.

Harebrained Schemes

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

kosmonaut's blog

3d GFX and more

bitsquid: development blog

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

Sean Middleditch Psychic Readings

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

Lost Garden

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

Memories

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

Casey Muratori's Blog

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

Rendering Evolution

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

Simonschreibt.

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

– Woolfe –

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

Clone of Duty: Stonehenge

First Person Shooter coming soon to the XBOX 360

Low Tide Productions

Games and other artsy stuff...

BadCorporateLogo

Just another WordPress.com site

Sipty's Writing

Take a look inside the mind of a game developer.

Jonas Kyratzes

Writer, Director & Game Designer