1 Comment

Week of Awesome II – The Toys Are Alive!

The theme for the game jam was announced last night: “The toys are alive”. I’m not a huge fan of specific themes like this, but I did manage to do a good amount of brainstorming last night.

brain

I’ve got some decent ideas, but I’ll need to prototype further in my head, on paper, and finally in Unity.

Today, at least to start, I plan to keep going through some Unity tutorials.

The ideas for my game generally require some sort of partially tile-based world. That is, I need a grid representation of the world to script to (to run game logic against). The grid representation will help constrain the game world so it’s more understandable to the player. But I also want it to be a full 3d rendered environment with flexibility in how it looks. I suppose two examples of games done in this manner would be Back to Bed and Monument Valley.

Should I just use re-usable basic building blocks at the tile level and do all level building in Unity? Coming up with an internal representation of the game world would be easier then. Or should I use Blender to model the levels, giving me the utmost flexibility, and then in unity somehow try to define “gamelogic layers” (or can I mark up the model file in Blender somehow). When modifying a level, I certainly don’t want to have to keep two representations in sync, so that kind of sounds like a pain.

The former seems like the better choice. Is there anything in Unity that can help me constrain where I can place my building blocks, thus making level design easier? Will I have performance issues if my colliders are based off individual little tiles instead of a single large mesh?

One comment on “Week of Awesome II – The Toys Are Alive!

  1. Sounds like much testing is in order – good start and good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

The Space Quest Historian

Let's Play's, Podcasts, and General Adventure Game Goodness

Harebrained Schemes

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

kosmonaut games

Development blog of "Bounty Road"

Halogenica

Turn up the rez!

bitsquid: development blog

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

Game Development by Sean

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

Lost Garden

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

Memories

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

Casey's Blog

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

Blog

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

Rendering Evolution

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

Simon schreibt.

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

Dev & Techno-phage

Do Computers Dream of Electric Developper?

- Woolfe -

Developer's blog for IceFall Games

Ferrara Fabio

Game & Application Developer, 3D Animator, Composer.

Clone of Duty: Stonehenge

First Person Shooter coming soon to the XBOX 360

Low Tide Productions

Games and other artsy stuff...

BadCorporateLogo

Just another WordPress.com site

Sipty's Writing

Take a look inside the mind of a game developer.

Jonas Kyratzes

Writer, game designer, filmmaker.

